It’s Not Mother’s Day!

I have a lot of American/Australian/Canadian friends online so this week has been a real bug-bare for me, as they are all posting about Mother’s Day.

The problem is, in England – Mother’s Day was in March! I’ve already given her daft presents and a card, took her out for a drink. I don’t need to do it again for a whole year. So you can imagine my frustration seeing all these posts about how amazing everyone’s mom’s are.

I’m not saying I only love my mom once a year, but we aren’t exactly thick as thieves. In fact, we are very different people. Which adds to my irritation when people say we look a like: that’s genetics  – not personality.

I’m very headstrong, determined, creative. I’m a self-published author, and I’m half-way through my degree. I have shoulder-length blonde hair (natural), I’m very pale and I have hazel eyes. (and I’m 5’3)

My mom is childish. She hates making plans and she’s obsessed with Eeyore. She is also a Bar Manager and has been for over a decade. She’s got short dark brown hair, dark white skin and hazel-brown eyes. (She’s 5’4)

Mom's Tigger Slippers

I do love my mom, but I don’t always like to admit it. Maybe one day we’ll get on better, but right now I’m glad we are just getting on.

Anyway, Happy Mother’s Day to the rest of the world, but in the UK it’s just plain old May 11th.

BYE!

One thought on “It’s Not Mother’s Day!

  1. Look at that didn’t know England had their own version

Leave a Reply

