Is Being Single A Bad Thing?

Is being single in your teens/twenties really as bad as they make it out to be?

single

I’m verging on 20 in two months, and I love being single. Yes, I do want to eventually tie myself down with marriage and a family – but as an independent Gen Y woman, I am quite happy to stay single for a while.

The stigma behind being single is that you’re lonely. I’m not lonely – I have friends and books and words. I have the internet – I can live without the night cuddles for a few more years.

thCA3AM5R1

In true writer fashion, I am an independent person – and the more time I spend with people, the less I focus on my writing. People (particularly boyfriends) seem to be a huge distraction from my writing life. That’s not to say I’m going to cut society out – every writer knows that the best way to find your voice, is to live life to it’s fullest and experience the world.

“Write what you know”  – Mark Twain

But this distraction-base isn’t limited to writers. I know so many couples that just get in each others way. They skip rehearsal because otherwise they miss dinner for a third night in a row. They say goodbye to the gym because the girlfriend wants to watch a movie. They miss girls night out because the boyfriend is complaining that he hasn’t seen her all week.

being-single-doesnt-mean-that-you-know-nothing-about-love1-sometimes-being-solo-is-wiser-than-being-in-a-false-relationship

Teens, especially undergraduates, are always being told to live our lives whilst we still can  – so why are we so ready to give up the freedom that youth gives us in order to settle in with a partner?

I don’t know, I’ve never done it. I’ve never even come close.

I could pin it all on conformities and leave it at that, but I don’t think that’s the whole truth.

Safety.

We want to be safe, it’s the comfort of knowing when you come home from a hard day someone is there to listen to you. It’s nice knowing there’s always someone on your side. But maybe safety isn’t the best thing for a person just discovering themselves.

I am ready to love someone, but I’m not ready to settle and be safe. If I met someone now, they would have to understand that I won’t be crying on their shoulder. I won’t be whinging that I never see them. I won’t be wondering what they are doing every minute of the day. I have a life to live, and I won’t put that on hold for a guy. I won’t put that on hold for anything or anyone.

I’m a Gen Y woman and I am happy being single. Are you?

 thCA15Q8GD

Got a comment? Post it below, or continue the discussion on Twitter @melissaholden94

Leave a Reply

