Is Being Career-Driven Messing With My Dating Life?

While on my newly-discovered favourite app: Tinder, I was caught off-guard by an overly honest user. 

Tinder-Logo-310x206

Dating is all about discovering people’s personalities, likes and dislikes, and their life goals. So imagine my surprise when one of my Tinder-matches said he wasn’t interested because I ‘seem like too much of a career bitch’. 

Now, I won’t lie – my writing is important to me and nothing will get in the way. Since when did being a career bitch becoming such a turn-off? 

When I’m walking down the street and I see a cute guy in a suit, I think ‘ooh – a career man!’ It proves a willingness to work hard and provide. It’s attractive in a man to see they are capable of independence (never mind the beautiful suits). 

succesful-business-woman-1050x700

But why is me being so dedicated my career a huge issue for guys? That one user isn’t the only one to mention my writing life. I’ve had friends tell me the same thing, as well as guys in clubs. I tell them I have a career plan and suddenly I don’t look so interesting anymore… 

Maybe it goes back to olden days, where women were all stay-at-home moms, and education was for the rich. I’m certainly not rich, and if I become a stay-at-home-mom, it will be because I work in my home office (which I plan on having in my beautiful home.)

download (1)

 

I’m enough of a feminist to know that as much as women shouldn’t be judged on appearance, they also shouldn’t be judged on their determination for a career.

Everyone is entitled to their dream job, it’s not a dampener on sexual appeal – if anything it should be a spark. 

*rant over*

If you missed my online dating expose, check it out here. 

 

Leave a Reply

