Be Yourself!

Last night while watching a 90’s chic-flick, I heard a song from my childhood that I adored. But upon hearing it now, I realise there is so much more to the song than six-year-old me noticed.

Alanis Morrissette’s ‘I’m a Bitch’ talks about how we are so many people at once, and that we shouldn’t change for anyone.

I’m a bitch, I’m a lover, I’m a child, I’m a mother
I’m a sinner, I’m a saint, I do not feel ashamed
I’m your hell, I’m your dream, I’m nothing in between
You know you wouldn’t want it any other way

Read more: Alanis Morissette – Im A Bitch Lyrics | MetroLyrics

And why should we want to be any other way? We should all be proud of the people and the identities we hold: mother, wife, daughter, friend – all wonderful people to be! No shame is needed when we talk about ourselves.

As a society, we are constantly putting ourselves (and others) down for being honest about who they are, but there is just no need. There is already enough corruption in the world without us all lying about the kind of people we are.

Today’s moral is: be yourself, and be happy with who you are. Because you are the only you there is in the entire world, and you can never be replaced.

Watch my vlog about it all here.

Leave a Reply

